wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Great news for those who haven't made their reservations yet! You can still take advantage of the very special group rate. The reservation deadline has been extended to March 1.

Make your reservations today!
oyceter: (not the magical minority fairy)
[personal profile] oyceter
Based on completely unscientific methods, have preliminarily decided to have two POC meet ups:

  1. Friday night (3/11) at 9pm in the hotel bar after the Take-Off Party. I am not entirely sure when the Take-Off Party ends (or if it does end), so please let me know if there is a better time/location! I figure this way, if people want, they can meet up prior to the big panel days.
  2. Saturday lunch (3/12), TBD. This will be during the lunch slot (hopefully there is a lunch slot in programming?). I was thinking of having it at Darbar, which is an Indian buffet about a block away from the hotel. Hopefully the buffet will provide lots of options and make bill-splitting not too difficult, but I am up for any other suggestions!


I know not everyone checks Twitter/DW/LJ/whatever else, so I will also send info about the meetup out in email. Please comment here or email me at oyceter at gmail if you'd like to stay informed!

Also, if you are up for making pamphlets and/or handing out pamphlets, comment here or email me!

xposted a billion places, sorry for the spam. Please xpost somewhere if I missed it.
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Looking for a roommate at #FOGcon? We have a place for you to do that.
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Make your reservations today. Our very special hotel rate is available only until February 16.
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
If you're interested in a meetup for POCs at #FOGcon, check here for information and discussion.
firecat: red panda looking happy (Default)
[personal profile] firecat
I was looking on the Fogcon web site to see if there would be at-the-door memberships, and I can't find any information about it. Please advise?
wordweaverlynn: (Default)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Wondering what to wear or how to meet people at #FOGcon? The FAQ will inform you!

And if you have additional questions, feel free to ask them here.
kalmn: (laughing)
[personal profile] kalmn
anyone looking for roommates? i snore (but provide earplugs for you) and take up a lot of the bathroom counter, but other than that am reasonably well behaved as a convention roommate.
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Today world-famous groundhog Punxsutawney Phil predicted an early spring. Given the vicious weather in much of the USA, maybe it's time we looked to a wiser creature to tell us what to expect.

We made our way to a small freshwater pond nearby to ask our animal mascot what was up. We found the amphibian meditatively sunning on a lotus leaf.

We explained our errand amidst a shower of splashes. At the other end of the pond, half a dozen kelpies and nymphs were tossing beach balls around, a number of which bounced toward us.

The FOGcon Frog said, "Scientifically speaking, there are six more weeks of winter or only six more weeks until spring, assuming that spring begins on the equinox and you're in the northern hemphishpere. Sorry, my tongue got tangled. Hemisphere."

We asked, "But will it be an early spring in San Francisco? What weather can we expect in March?"

"We already have cherry blossoms, and the crabapple trees are in flower. San Francisco’s notoriously variable climate features sun, fog, rain, and cool breezes—sometimes all at once. Thus our high frequency of rainbows. March is still the rainy season, but the average March high is 62, with a low of 49."

The frog (a particularly dignified one, with beautiful golden eyes) added, "But the solstice is not the important date. Do you realize that FOGcon is happening in just five weeks?"

"You're right. It runs from March 11 through 13."

"Better reserve your hotel rooms now, and don't forget to register," the frog advised. "Panels start on Friday morning, so travelers should arrive Thursday night."

Another beach ball sailed toward us. The frog leaped into the air and gave it a powerful kick. The Lady of the Lake, her arm clad in the purest shimmering samite, held aloft a sword from the bosom of the water, spearing the beach ball, which deflated with a hiss.

With a deep, resonant ribbit, the frog plopped back into the deep pool. In a moment the gleaming deep green head popped up to explain, "Strange women lying in ponds make superb goalies. It's water polo practice. They reported to spring training today."
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Tomorrow the membership price goes up to $75 per adult and $55 per youth. So register now and save!

Ways to use the cash you'll save:

  • Splurge on books, art, jewelry, or other goodies in the Dealers' Room

  • Buy an old friend a drink. Or a new friend. Or yourself

  • Make an origami dragon with it

  • Have all your friends at FOGcon autograph it

  • Spend it at one of San Francisco's peerless restaurants

  • Frame it and hang it on your wall

  • Tip grandly with it -- you'll impress your date and thrill your server


We did have a brief snafu with the PayPal button. The few who overpaid are getting a refund via PayPal. If you register today, the price really will be lower than it will be tomorrow.
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
The Friends of Genre Convention (FOGcon) is a literary-themed San Francisco SF/F con in the tradition of Wiscon and Readercon. Each year we'll focus on a new theme in speculative fiction and invite Honored Guests ranging from writers to scientists to artists. We will build community, exchange ideas, and share our love for the literature of imagination.

Theme for 2011: The City in SF/F

Honored Guests: Pat Murphy and Jeff VanderMeer; Honored Editorial Guest, Ann VanderMeer; Honored Guest (Posthumous) Fritz Leiber

"There is more than one road to the City."—Ursula K. Le Guin
Whether a glass-edged utopia or a steampunk hell, the city plays a central role in many works of speculative fiction. It can be an arena for conflicts between cultures, a center of learning or vice, a court of power and corruption. In its gutters and government buildings, the city reveals the values a society claims and those it actually honors. Because the city is open to everyone, it's a place where new things can happen. No wonder it is such a rich topic for so many writers.
wordweaverlynn: the Golden Gate Bridge in fog; instead of cables, the uprights are book spines (FOGcon)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Before the Con Checklist

  • Buy membership. Adult membership rises to $75 after February 1, so buy yours now!

  • Vote on panels and sign up to participate. Programming closes February 1, so do it soon!

  • Plan your trip. Make sure you plan to arrive Thursday night, March 10. Registration will be open for an hour Thursday night and early on Friday. Con events start Friday, March 11, at 9AM.

  • Make your hotel reservations. The FOGcon special room rate of $119 per night plus tax is available only if you make your reservations by February 16. Our group code for hotel reservations at the special rate is SGC.



At the Con
Details of the schedule are coming soon. Right now we know these events for sure:

  • Thursday, March 10, registration opens.

  • Friday, March 11, registration plus a full day of panels and workshops starting at 9AM. In the evening is the Take-off Party, a free and fabulous feast (buy your own drinks) where you can savor a variety of foods, get to know your fellow con members, and show off your favorite party clothes: jeans, tuxedos, spacesuits, historical garb, whatever fancy suit suits your fancy. Yes, the Take-Off Party is included in your membership.

  • Saturday, March 12, and Sunday March 13, more panels, readings, signings, and workshops. The Con Hospitality Suite will be open from Friday through Sunday, providing a place to relax and free munchies.

  • Sunday, March 13, after the con is over there will be a party for those staying over one more night. Traditionally known as the Dead Dog Party, ours is the Dead Frog Party. This low-key event offers a perfect opportunity to wind down, talk with someone you've missed seeing all weekend, and exchange email addresses and URLs with new friends.


More special events to come!
jesse_the_k: White woman with glasses laughing under large straw hat (JK 52 happy hat)
[personal profile] jesse_the_k
I'm very excited about coming for the inaugural year of FOGcon! I'm a fifties female with severe asthma, CFIDS, and a bunch of other medical stuff you've never heard of.

I'm looking for a personal assistant (PA). The job description includes:
1. Push my wheelchair
2. Keep me on an even keel cognitively, which includes taking the lead in navigating airports, noticing if I'm too tired to think or too hungry to sit up, etc.
3. Run errands outside the hotel if need be

The PA would *not* have to do lifting, bathing, toileting or other body care.

I'm willing to pay for the PA's FOGcon membership, provide the other queen bed in my con hotel room, and airfare (if we start from Madison or Minneapolis). We'd arrive in SF on Thursday 3/10, the day before the con starts, and leave on Monday 3/14.

If you're interested follow this link to the full job ad in my personal journal.

(And if you know someone who's not online who might be interested, feel free to spread the word! Gotta buy the plane tickets by the last week in January, so act now.)
wordweaverlynn: (Default)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
The man who sold the moon won't have a dealer's table at FOGcon, but you can.

Dealer's tables are open to anything genre-related. Books. Art. Jewelry. Craft objects. Festive clothing. (If you have ideas or products that aren't listed here, please email us.) The charge for a table is $85, which includes one convention membership. That's a stellar deal in itself.

Email us today for further information and to reserve your table.
wordweaverlynn: (Default)
[personal profile] wordweaverlynn
Hotel reservations for FOGcon are available now.

FOGcon is held at the beautiful Holiday Inn Golden Gateway Hotel. With its convenient location and spectacular views across the city, this hotel showcases the beauty of San Francisco. It offers two hotel restaurants, dozens of other eating places within easy walking distance, and a mini-fridge in every room. The hotel is a non-smoking facility, and offers many wheelchair accessible rooms. Con members receive special discounted parking rates of $20 per day.

1500 Van Ness Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94109

Make your reservations today. The FOGcon special room rate is $119 per night plus tax. Our group code for hotel reservations at the special rate is SGC.
Page generated Sep. 22nd, 2017 05:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios